Back 1964

On 17 March, the Convention on the Elaboration of a European Pharmacopoeia was adopted by the Committee of Ministers. The first meeting of the Ph. Eur. Commission was held on 28 April and was chaired by Mr Leon Robert (Luxembourg). This meeting marked the accession of Switzerland. Belgium became the first country to sign the Convention. In September, the Rules of Procedure governing the Ph. Eur. Commission were adopted and Mr Herbert Grainger was nominated Head of the Technical Secretariat.