



Press release

15 June 2021, Strasbourg, France

The Eurasian Economic Commission and the EDQM agree to extend and strengthen international collaboration in the circulation of medicines

On 26 May 2021, the European Directorate for the Quality of Medicines & HealthCare (EDQM) and the Eurasian Economic Commission (EEC) signed a memorandum of understanding. The EEC is the permanent regulatory body of the Eurasian Economic Union (EAEU), which currently comprises five member states (the Republic of Armenia, the Republic of Belarus, the Republic of Kazakhstan, the Kyrgyz Republic and the Russian Federation).

This new agreement is aimed at fostering co-operation on the quality and safety of medicines and thus promoting progress in the field of public health.

Susanne Keitel, Director of the EDQM, expressed satisfaction with the agreement and added that:

In an increasingly globalised pharmaceutical sector, co-operation among international pharmacopoeias on quality standards for medicines is essential to ensure that the protection of public health is based on the best scientific expertise available worldwide. Moreover, the climate in which we are living today, where the whole world is deeply affected by the COVID-19 pandemic, has made it exceedingly clear how crucial agreements such as this one are to fighting the pandemic. Only through international collaboration, co-operation and harmonisation can solutions be found.

Co-operation under this memorandum will take the following forms:

- exchange of pharmacopoeial texts and materials contained in the Eurasian Economic Union Pharmacopoeia and the European Pharmacopoeia;
- exchange of regulatory and technical documentation, as well as information of mutual interest, including the development of general and individual pharmacopoeia monographs (information exchanges may be carried out in either Russian or English);
- exchange of experience in the pharmacopoeial analysis of medicines;
- implementing other forms of co-operation on issues of mutual interest.

The EDQM, Council of Europe, regularly concludes agreements with other international intergovernmental organisations and public international institutions to support international harmonisation and contribute to the protection of public health. The list of memoranda of understanding and agreements is available on the EDQM website.

Note for the Editor:

The EDQM is a leading organisation that protects public health by enabling the development, supporting the implementation and monitoring the application of quality standards for safe medicines and their safe use. Our standards are recognised as a scientific benchmark worldwide. The European Pharmacopoeia is legally binding in member states. The EDQM also develops guidance and standards in the areas of blood transfusion, organ transplantation and consumer health issues.

Contact: Caroline Larsen Le Tarnec, Public Relations Division, Tel.: +33 (0) 6 63 48 01 26 – E-mail: caroline.letarnec@edgm.eu

1. There are 40 members of the European Pharmacopoeia Commission: Austria, Albania, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Republic of Moldova, Montenegro, Netherlands, North Macedonia, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Serbia, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom and the European Union.

A political organisation set up in 1949, the Council of Europe works to promote democracy and human rights continent-wide. It also develops common responses to social, cultural and legal challenges in its 47 member states.